This is (obviously) a middle post in a series of posts. You can read it if you want or you can read from the beginning… Whatever you want. The first post can be found here.

My junior year was pleasant, though very difficult. There’s just something about the idea of having an easy senior year that causes droves of 11th graders to take every hard class they would conceivably need to take all in one year. My sophomore year was easy that I accused every teacher who was ever hard on us because “we’re preparing you for high school, which will be much harder.” Then I did my junior year and I don’t call my former teachers liars.

Not only did I have to do math classes, which were so hard for me, but I also had to take Chemistry (not really all that hard, but there was a lot of work involved) and AP Literature. I didn’t HAVE to take them, but I did because I’m a conformist.

I started my junior year in an awkward state of being (more so than my normal state of being, I mean). I had had the worst summer ever, which is saying something because my summers are usually really boring and involve me sleeping way more than is healthy because I’m just so bored. As way of proof, I had such a horrible summer that, instead of gaining five pounds or so because of inactivity, I actually lost fifteen pounds. I stayed up late coloring to music (no joke) and then woke up at around 7am to sit out on the couch in the living room with a blanket, staring at a wall. I was in therapy for a couple of months before school started again and I stayed in until sometime in November. I really don’t remember anything that I did during that chunk of time, but I have a feeling that I don’t really want to know or perhaps there isn’t anything noteworthy that happened.

In any case, I remember the best part of the year being the second half. At that point, I had nearly the same schedule as my bff Leslie. We would go to AP Lit in the morning, we had separate US History classes (she took AP, but I wasn’t insane enough for that), then we went to Orchestra together, Chemistry was after lunch, then I’m pretty sure I had Seminary and Financial Literacy, but I don’t really remember what classes she had.

When Leslie and I were in the same class, we pitied the teacher. Leslie and I talk… far too much. We have a hard time not sharing our thoughts. We are a great team when it comes to learning because the things I struggle with, she understands and vice versa. Neither of us have ever been very good at raising our hands before speaking and we tend to joke a lot. I remember that our Chemistry teacher got after us for reading during class. Not to mention, we probably drove him nuts with our constant joking, but he was a pretty humorous guy, so it was pretty much fine.

We drove our AP Lit teacher mad because she wanted us to focus and we didn’t want to. Our AP Literature class was very interesting, filled with all the most intelligent people in our grade and the one above us. Not only did we know a lot about a lot of different things amongst ourselves, but we were also sarcastic and debate oriented. I really feel sorry for kids that get stuck in classes with us. I can’t imagine what it would feel like to observe debates like we have. None of us are shy about pointing it out when someone was wrong and we weren’t really cowed when our own mistakes were pointed out and we were loud.

This group of people also mostly sat together at lunch, so that half hour was always interesting and eventful.

Junior year was the year Leslie and I figured out all the things we are going to do in the future. We’re doing everything from a trip to Europe as soon as we can afford one to writing a trilogy (which is, like, halfway planned and super awesome).

It just seems like I spent my whole junior year feeling good because I still had a year between me and graduation. I don’t dread graduation for the same reason as many of my classmates. They are afraid that they aren’t ready or that they are going to fail at being adult, but I dread it because it’s going to take a whole lot more work than I am currently doing. I’ve really loved high school and the freedom of time that it gives me. I haven’t really accomplished much with that time (I mean besides ending the year with a perfect 100% grade in US History), but I don’t feel like I’ve wasted it at all. I adequately appreciate the time I enjoy, though I wish it wouldn’t go so quickly.

Speaking of my grade in US History, we had this student teacher for much of the year. He was pretty cool, though he didn’t laugh at my leprechaun jokes (he’s a ginger). I really liked our normal history teacher, but they were both pretty cool.

I think my junior year will forever be the year that I did some random stuff that caused me to decide to do some other random stuff during my senior year that would help me decide what I want to do in the future. It kind of sucks that I can’t remember anything else about it, but the stuff I do remember was fun stuff. I can’t really remember anything super stupid that I did… Not thinking about it at the moment, anyway.

People put a lot of effort into remembering specifics. They write diligently in their journals, recording dates and names and anything else they would possibly want to know later on, but I’ve never been much to do that. I remember things in big chunks and with overall feelings attached to them.  Occasionally I’ll remember something specific, but I usually forget about it, which is supposedly a good thing because it means you’re living in the future.

A lot of people say that senior year is the most memorable, which may or may not be true. It is right now for me, but that’s most likely because I’m still living it and it’s foremost in my mind, but I think that a lot of important things happened in my junior year that affect me now. It was also a completely different experience than senior year, partially because of how hard it was compared to this year, but also because of all the people who graduated early. My best friend, Leslie, Spencer, Ali. A whole bunch of people that I spent a lot of time with. This year, I sit in a completely different part of the lunch room with a whole different set of friends. They’re fantastic and I love every minute I get to spend with them, but it makes me feel like my junior year happened to someone entirely different than me. I wouldn’t say that I’ve changed very much, but I feel different. I feel like a lot of things have distanced me from the person that I was.

Not that this is bad, but it kind of feels sad anyway.

Next episode in the series.

