Favorite Doctor Who Catchphrase:

I like saying “Molto bene”. It makes me feel special, like I know a different language. I like the other catchphrases, but I don’t really ever say any of them. I do say “bow-ties are cool” a lot because my friend Gavin wears bow-ties a lot and because we watch Bill Nye frequently in Chemistry.

I find it extremely interesting that people can identify themselves and others within a fandom by their word choice. It’s never really happened to me because I was already friends with all of the school people who watch Doctor Who when they got into Doctor Who. Mostly when I find out that I have a common interest with someone who I don’t know very well, they mostly say, “Oh, hey, have you ever heard of Doctor Who?” to which I reply that I have and the stuff ensues.

I guess it’s sort of related to how I got my friend Leslie to start saying the word “snood”.

