Today in Seminary, we talked a little about Facebook for some reason that I’m a little fuzzy on. The interesting(/stupid) thing is that when people talk about Facebook away from Facebook, they always talk about it negatively. Mostly, the reason for that hate is that because everyone on it is just seeking attention, which is probably true. They talk about how posting a status is just asking for people to comment on it. I think they’ve pretty much hit it on the head, there, but, being an avid user of Twitter and a daily checker of Facebook (I admit it), I couldn’t help but think that my Seminary class was getting the point but missing it entirely.

According to them, getting on Facebook is due to a yearning for attention and that yearning is a BAD THING. You’re obviously prideful and evil if you seek attention on Facebook. I don’t agree or disagree with this idea, but the reason they hate Facebook isn’t because people go on there to get attention, it’s because of how obvious it is that the people on there want attention. Humans like people liking them. This is just a thing that happens to be. It’s fine to want to be liked. The problem is that my classmates think that being too obvious in your quest of acceptance is somehow the wrong way to get attention. In criticizing Facebook users, they are implying that they are not guilty of attention seeking, yet they dress nicely, they do their hair every day, they SPEAK  to people. How is this any different than Facebook? It isn’t.

I’m totally guilty of attention seeking, then. I’m writing in a blog. When I am finished with this post, I will send it off to Twitter and Facebook and I will assign tags to it so if people just happen to Google something (or maybe they use Yahoo?) having to do with this post, they’ll be directed here. It’s not like I’m locking it up so that no one else can read it. I could claim that I’m blogging to improve my writing, but that would be an outrageous lie. This post is HORRIBLY formatted and I keep saying “you”, which you’re apparently not supposed to do whilst writing persuasively and if I were really trying to improve my writing, I could stand to work on my organization.

I’m just saying that it’s dangerous to think it’s one-hundred percent evil to seek attention. It’s our nature. That said, I hate some of the things people post on Facebook. If you’re going to post ridiculous, embarrassing things on Facebook, the least you could do is use proper grammar. I am a supporter of the regulation of language. Everyone who complains about attention-seekers on Facebook is most likely guilty of it as well (unless they don’t even have a Facebook). So everyone should just stop… I’m not sure what you’re stopping, but you should.

Also, try not to say too many mean things about people who use Facebook and/or Twitter a lot, because when you do, it makes us feel bad. Seriously, some of us aren’t good at anything else besides social-networking (I’m not even really “good” at it), so lay off it, okay? Yeah, I should probably go get a job or finish my AP Literature homework, but I like my tweeting, so…

