I’ve had this kind of reoccurring dream over the course of my existence involving a maze/labyrinth in a forest that isn’t really a forest. It’s not really a maze or a labyrinth in the usual sense, but it is a series of rooms in a building and it’s hard/impossible to know where to go, not that my dream self knows that there is even a place to go. The forest part comes in as the walls are painted to look kind of like a really dark forest, but whenever I dream about it, I think, “Oh, hey, I’m back in the forest”. I guess it’s worth mentioning that I always know that I’m dreaming when I’m in a dream. Like some people wake up from a dream and go, “Oh, good, that was a dream and wasn’t real”, well, I don’t do that. I can immediately spot a dream when I’m having it.

Anyway, in a dream that takes place in “the forest”, I am usually trying to get from point A to point B for some unknown reason and I can’t ever get there. Well, I should say that I can never get there unscathed. The only time I’ve ever made it where I was going, I was first attacked by a pack of wolves and then I went insane, so reaching the place I was going did me absolutely no good.

Insanity- Another reoccurring theme in my dreams.

This time around with “the forest”, though, I wasn’t trying to get somewhere, I was trying to get something. Like I was going to dash in and then come back out, the problem being that I couldn’t do that for some reason that was a little fuzzy during the dream.

The point is that I actually like “the forest” quite a bit. There are a bunch of different places that I dream about frequently, but I really like the forest because for some reason, I can always get out if I need to. Even though it’s a maze/labyrinth thing, I never get stuck in there. I frequently end up where I started, which is frustrating, or I just can’t find what I’m looking for, but I always come back out. It’s probably a metaphor for something, but I’m not very knowledgeable in dream-theory, so…

Another theme I really like, whether in dreams or literature or television shows, is time. There are a few songs about time that I really like that I’m going to use as basis for books that I will write someday (but I haven’t yet). But there is this poem that I have to analyse for my AP Literature class that talks a little bit about time, death particularly. I also like the idea of death, I mean besides just killing most of my characters off at the end of whatever story I am writing. Someday, I will write a book that is so overwhelmingly nostalgic that everyone will cry. I’m just not sure how to do that right now.

Last of all (chronologically, but weirdly mentioned first…), I dug around in the garden today and found some worms. Worms are awesome.

