Teachers usually have various reactions to being corrected by their students. Whilst the point on which they are being corrected is a factor in their reaction, this blog-post is going to focus on one area specifically; grammar and/or word choice.

My Seminary teacher once asked me [after I told him that it was trimester, not semester (our school district splits the school year into three trimesters instead of two semesters)], “Do you just feel superior, being right all the time and correcting everyone?”. The answer to that question is: no. I do not enjoy having to correct people on their word choice, I do not enjoy being “right” all the time. I’m not “right” all the time. I correct people on their grammar and/or word choice because I just want everyone else to be “right”.

Most people will argue that grammar does not matter and that they don’t have to use it, but who wants to be intentionally wrong? If it doesn’t matter, why not use the correct way anyway just for kicks and giggles? There are a million blog-posts arguing about the importance of grammar, so I’m not going to waste time presenting evidence, but even if the rules of grammar don’t actually matter, I still think that people could stand to use them. Also, we spend years in school to learn grammar, so it’d be pretty stupid for us to waste all of that knowledge (assuming that you gained some knowledge during high school and didn’t just cut class to do drugs).

Having said that, as soon as I get out of college, I’m never using Calculus again.

