Last night I read the first one fourth or so of this book and I have some opinions that might be too long for Twitter. Here we go.

Does anyone else think of it as a little ironic how Harry acts at the beginning whilst he is still at the Dursley’s? He spends a fair amount of time complaining about how awful they are to him, yet whenever he is around any of them, he’s always discribed as “cold”. I understand why, I mean, I’ve read the books, but Harry, being the apparently compassionate person that he is (since he’s always trying to prevent everyone from sacrificing things for him and he tried to save everyone during the second task in The Goblet of Fire), is kind of a little jerk to the Dursley’s.

He doesn’t even TRY to be nice to them. I’m sure he sees this as pay-back for all those years that he was the underdog of the situation, but since when is revenge the right way to go? He DOES save Duddley and he DOES restrain himself for the most part, but these are his character peeking through. I understand about, when writing, you aren’t supposed to make your main character perfect at the beginning so that they have room to grow by the end of the story, but this bugs me a bit.

Then, when he is reunited with Ron and Hermione, he acts like a jerk to them, which is COMPLETELY understandable, seeing as we’re all human. And again, it might just be the stress that Harry is under, but I just wanted to point out this. Sometimes people make themselves miserable and blame it on other things. Feel free to defend Harry in the comments if you wish.

